Skip to content
You are here: Home | Parents | What is SEND?

What is SEND?

Different types of SEN

There are four main areas of special educational need defined in the SEND Code of Practice (2015). These are:

  • Cognition and Learning
  • Communication and Interaction
  • Sensory and Physical
  • Social Emotional and Mental Health (SEMH)

A child or young person may have difficulties in one area, or in more than one area.  The special educational provision for you or your child should be matched to these identified special educational needs.